top of page

Astrology 101

Why Astrology?

I started learning about Astrology about 10 years ago. I had always known my "sun sign" (Sagittarius), but it wasn't until my sister Angela started learning about Astrology that I found out there was more to it. Many people roll their eyes when they hear talk about Astrology, because they feel it is made up, and could "describe anyone". The reason Astrology interests me is because it helps me better understand the human psyche. Maybe what I read about COULD describe anyone, but I don't care because it teaches me why people are the way they are, and helps me accept them for whoever they may be.

Below is a overview of the main aspects to Astrology.

Starting with what your birth chart means. Your birth chart is determined by the day & time you were born. The reason being, each of the planets are in different places in the sky at that exact moment, and that is why mostly everyone's birth charts are different from one another. (the exception being you were born in the same place at the same time). However even if you have a similar birth chart to someone, you could be two different people because of your genetics, and the environments you were raised in.

Birth Chart = position of planets are in at time of birth

I think that when people say they don’t feel like their sign, they are usually referring to their sun sign, and to be fair they’re right. You are not just the traits you read about your sun sign, you are a combination of ALL the planets signs in your birth chart. So when learning astrology, and about yourself, it’s best to learn about all the signs first, so when you figure out what you’re made of you will already know what each sign represents, and how each planet affects the mind, body, and spirit.

“Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, these are the planets that dwell near the stars."

5 main Ruling Planets & Ascendant

Sun = ego, reason, center of our personality, our will to live, what kind of mark we want to leave on earth, “adult” part of us that makes decisions

Sun acts, Moon reacts

Moon = inner self, inner child, inner mother, deepest personal needs, habits, reactions, reflection, feelings, how we protect ourselves, comfort / safety, mute sorrows or secret dreams, intuition / instincts

Mercury = day to day communication, “choice of words” verbal or non-verbal (emails), how we analyze info, makes sense of things, how you study

Venus = love / pleasures (money, taste, artistic inclinations) what makes us happy, grace, charm, beauty, relationships, types of gifts we buy, attachment to others

Mars = energy, action, desire, survival instinct, aggression, anger / temper

Ascendant / Rising Sign = 1st impression, physical appearance, body ego

4 Elements / Triplicities

(12 signs divided into 4 groups of 3)

Fire (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius) = lively, aggressive, bright, enthusiastic, self-sufficient, forceful, demanding, unpredictable, passionate, quick to anger / “hot headed”

Air (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius) = quick minds, good with communication, reason & intellect, look for logic, can be cold or impractical, unpredictable, ditzy / absent minded / “air head”

Earth (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn) = matter of fact, stable, realistic, dependable, serious, grounded

Water (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces) = empathetic, sensitive, intuitive, deep emotions, mysterious, understanding, go with the flow

3 Qualities

(12 signs divided into 3 groups of 4)

Cardinal (Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn) = initiative, vitally, begin, ignite, and like to control situations

Aries- looks for leadership control

Cancer- wants to control their emotions, home, and family

Libra- looks to control social atmosphere & partnerships

Capricorn- wants to control their materialistic environment

Fixed (Taurus, Leo, Aquarius, Scorpio) = stability, maintain, don’t like change, steady, determined, self-reliant, can feel stuck in life

Taurus- mainstream

Leo- hard time adapting to different circumstances

Aquarius- can get stuck in negative self-image

Scorpio- emotionally stuck

Mutable (Gemini, Virgo, Pisces, Sagittarius) = adaptable, prepare for transition, resourceful, not afraid of change

Gemini- change ideas often

Virgo- dominate in environment

Pisces-adapt to environment

Sagittarius- changes view of things


(Every other sign / 12 signs divided into 2 groups of 6)

Masculine Feminine

Aries Taurus

Gemini Cancer

Leo Virgo

Libra Scorpio

Sagittarius Capricorn

Aquarius Pisces


(Signs opposite of each other / 12 signs divided into 6 groups of 2)

Aries – Libra

Taurus – Scorpio

Gemini – Sagittarius

Cancer – Capricorn

Leo – Aquarius

Virgo - Pisces

I think people read something about their sun sign and don't connect with it, therefore don't believe Astrology is real. In my own opinion I don't think Astrology is real or not real, but rather a way of understanding one a mental process we use when evaluating the behaviors of others.

Let me know if you have any questions about Astrology, I love teaching people about it.

And if you start to learn about it and appreciate a good laugh, check out my sister Angela's Astrology IG page: cap_riquarius

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page